User Tools

Site Tools


how_to:outlook_behaviour_when_deleting_messages

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

how_to:outlook_behaviour_when_deleting_messages [2018/11/14 10:45] (current)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +======Outlook behaviour when deleting messages from IMAP4======
  
 +When you delete a message in Outlook it marks the message as deleted (putting a line through it). You have to '​purge'​ the mailbox to actually delete the message.
 +
 +See [[http://​office.microsoft.com/​en-us/​outlook-help/​purge-imap-items-marked-for-deletion-HP010080420.aspx|this Microsoft article]] for more information on this.
 +
 +Note that other IMAP4 email clients such as [[http://​www.mozillamessaging.com/​thunderbird/​|Mozilla Thunderbird]] have more options for deleting messages (eg Thunderbird has a choice of: move to '​deleted'​ folder, delete immediately,​ or mark as deleted)
how_to/outlook_behaviour_when_deleting_messages.txt ยท Last modified: 2018/11/14 10:45 (external edit)